IFLR Americas Awards 2023: open for entries
IFLR is part of the Delinian Group, Delinian Limited, 4 Bouverie Street, London, EC4Y 8AX, Registered in England & Wales, Company number 00954730
Copyright © Delinian Limited and its affiliated companies 2024

Accessibility | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Modern Slavery Statement

IFLR Americas Awards 2023: open for entries

900x600 IFLR Americas announcing research

The Americas awards research has now begun, with winners to be announced in New York in May 2023

We are delighted to announce the launch of research for the IFLR Americas Awards 2023. The awards celebrate the most impressive legal innovation in the region’s cross-border market. As always, we will be recognising the leading deals, firms and teams across a number of categories, including equity, private equity and M&A. We have also added some new categories for 2023, including a Tech Innovation award, open to both in-house teams and law firms, a new Digital Finance award and a Diversity Champion award, which recognizes work that actively promotes diversity in law throughout the region.

To nominate deals, teams, firms and individuals for the awards please use the awards forms. All the award categories, along with their criteria and the research methodology, are detailed in the Awards Summary.


Entry deadline: January 18 2023 

Shortlist publication: March 21 2023 

Winners’ announcement: mid-May 2023 (date and venue TBC) 

You can download all the forms you need to make your nominations here

All entries must be uploaded to our PORTAL by January 18 2023. Please get in touch as soon as possible if you wish to participate.

For any questions about the research, please contact Sophie Astles

For queries about business development and commercial opportunities related to the awards, please contact Chris Edouard

Last year’s IFLR Americas winners’ presentation, write ups and shortlists are free to view at Winners 2022 and Shortlist 2022.

Awards overview 

Many of the key requirements and guidelines for the awards remain unchanged. All deals must have reached financial close in 2022 to be included in the research. Deals that have not closed before the end of December 2022 will not be considered.

All deals must meet the cross-border criteria unless otherwise stated. The deals also form the basis of most of the team and firm of the year awards – after all, these awards are all about legal innovation in cross-border transactions. By focusing on this innovation, the IFLR awards strive to recognise work that breaks new legal ground, sets precedents, develops the legal framework for cross-border corporate finance and improves the investment environment.  

When searching for legal innovation, IFLR will consider new legal structures, deals that address new regulatory frameworks, first-in-kind deals and transactions that adapt existing technology to local markets. IFLR will assess the sophistication and complexity of the work and the impact of the legal innovation, as well as contextual challenges in execution, such as political risk. However, the size of the deal, media coverage, commercial success or the speed of the deal are not relevant.  

Finally, we recommend that firms nominate no more than three deals in any one deal of the year category as it is unlikely that more than three will get shortlisted.  

Good luck!  

Gift this article