IFLR Europe Awards 2023: open for entries
IFLR is part of the Delinian Group, Delinian Limited, 4 Bouverie Street, London, EC4Y 8AX, Registered in England & Wales, Company number 00954730
Copyright © Delinian Limited and its affiliated companies 2023

Accessibility | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Modern Slavery Statement

IFLR Europe Awards 2023: open for entries

IFLR Europe Awards 2023 Open for Entries

Research for the 2023 Europe awards has begun – winners will be announced at a live event in London in May

We are pleased to announce the launch of the 2023 IFLR Europe Awards, celebrating the best in legal innovation in the region’s cross-border market. As ever, we will be recognising the leading deals, firms and teams across a number of categories, including equity, M&A and securitisation and structured finance. We have also introduced some new categories for this year, including a Net-zero Transition Award and Tech Innovation Award, open to both in-house teams and law firms, in addition to a new Digital Finance Award.

To nominate deals, teams and firms for all the awards, please use the awards forms. All the categories, along with their criteria and the research methodology, are detailed in our Awards Summary.


  • Nomination deadline: December 9 2022

  • Shortlist publication: March 2023

  • Awards ceremony: May 2023 (date and venue TBC)

You can download all the forms you need to make your nominations here

All entries must be uploaded to the PORTAL by December 9 2022. Deals that reach financial close between December 9 2022 and the end of the year can be submitted by January 6 2023. This deadline is strictly for these deals only and cannot be extended.

For any questions about the research, please contact Sophie Astles

For queries about business development and commercial opportunities related to the awards, please contact Sanawa Mtalo

Last year’s IFLR Europe Awards winners’ write ups and shortlists are free to view at Winners 2022 and Shortlist 2022.

Awards overview

Many of the key requirements and guidelines for the awards remain unchanged. All deals must have reached financial close in 2022 to be included in the research. Deals that have not closed before the end of December 2022 will not be considered. Deals that reach financial close between the 9 December submission deadline and the end of the year can be submitted by a 6 January deadline.

All deals must meet the cross-border criteria unless otherwise stated. The deals also form the basis of most of the team and firm of the year awards – after all, these awards are all about legal innovation in cross-border transactions. By focusing on this innovation, the IFLR awards strive to recognise work that breaks new legal ground, develops the legal framework for cross-border corporate finance and improves the investment environment.

IFLR will consider the sophistication and complexity of the work and the impact of the legal innovation, as well as contextual challenges in execution, such as political risk. However, the size of the deal, media coverage, commercial success or the speed of the deal are not relevant.

Finally, we recommend that firms nominate no more than three deals in any one deal of the year category as it is unlikely that more than three will get shortlisted.

Good luck!