IFLR Americas Awards 2022: open for entries
IFLR is part of Legal Benchmarking Limited, 4 Bouverie Street, London, EC4Y 8AX
Copyright © Legal Benchmarking Limited and its affiliated companies 2024

Accessibility | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Modern Slavery Statement

IFLR Americas Awards 2022: open for entries


Research for the 2022 IFLR Americas Awards has now begun, with winners to be announced on May 12 2022

We are delighted to announce the launch of research for the IFLR Americas Awards 2022. To nominate deals, teams, firms and individuals for the awards please use the forms below. All the award categories, along with the criteria, methodology and what we will be looking for, are detailed in the Awards Summary.


  • Entry deadline: January 24 2022

  • Shortlist publication: March 2022

  • Event: May 19 2022 

Nomination forms: 

All entries must be uploaded to our ENTRY PORTAL by January 24 2022. Please get in touch as soon as possible if you wish to participate.

For any questions about the research, please contact Sophie Astles

For queries about business development and commercial opportunities related to the awards, please contact Chris Edouard

Last year’s IFLR Americas winners’ presentation, write ups and shortlists are free to view at Winners 2021 and Shortlist 2021.You can also find all of IFLR’s awards winner presentations and podcast discussions, as well as interviews with some of last year’s award winners, here.

What we look for:

IFLR awards strive to recognise and reward work that improves the cross-border investment environment. To do this, the awards look exclusively at legal innovation in cross-border transactions, with judges focused on deals that break new legal ground, set precedents, and bring clarity to, or develop, the legal environment for cross-border corporate finance.

When searching for legal innovation, IFLR will consider new legal structures, deals that address new regulatory frameworks, first-of-its-kind deals and transactions that adapt existing technology to local markets. The difficulty and intricacy of that innovation is assessed, as well as its likely market impact.

This year, IFLR will be awarding national firms of the year, financial regulation team of the year, CFIUS team of the year and the most innovative deals and teams in the following categories: debt and equity-linked, equity, high yield, loans, M&A, private equity, project finance, restructuring and structured finance & securitisation.

The awards will also be inviting nominations for a new Net-zero Transition award, which will recognise a law firm or legal team for its work on innovative initiatives or deals that contribute to net-zero goals.

All deals must have closed in 2021 to be included in the research. Deals that have not reached financial close before the end of December 2021 will not be considered. Deals must also meet the awards’ cross-border criteria. We recommend that firms nominate no more than three deals in any one Deal of the year category, using the forms provided above – we value quality over quantity.

While there is no specific category to recognise ESG, ESG is important to IFLR and the awards strive to reward legal innovation that supports high ESG standards across all categories.

Good luck!

Gift this article