IFLR Americas Awards 2018: Davis Polk wins firm of the year

Author: | Published: 17 May 2018
Email a friend

Please enter a maximum of 5 recipients. Use ; to separate more than one email address.

Davis Polk & Wardwell was named firm of the year at IFLR's 13th annual Americas awards on May 17. The firm picked up six awards in total across a wide array of practice areas including the high yield, M&A and restructuring deals of the year, as well as team of the year for high yield and restructuring.

The ceremony, held at Essex House in New York, brought together the continent's best legal talent to celebrate 2017's most innovative cross-border Americas transactions, and the teams and firms that advised on them.

Pinheiro Neto Advogados received four awards, including for South America firm of the year and Brazil firm of the year. Ritch Mueller scooped up the North American firm of the year and the Mexican firm of the year awards.

Cleary Gottlieb was also celebrating after picking up three awards including debt & equity linked team of the year, while Bruchou Fernández Madero & Lombardi was awarded the national corporate and banking & finance team recognitions, and Argentina firm of the year.

Sally Miller, the former chief executive if the International Bankers' Association, was given the Contribution to Regulatory Reform award for her work on banking and securities regulation. Leslie Silverman, from Cleary Gottlieb, was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Full results from the ceremony are below:

Individual awards

Outstanding Contribution to Regulatory Reform

Sally Miller

Lifetime Achievement

Leslie Silverman

Deals of the year

Debt & equity linked

Bancolombia Basel III subordinated notes
Brigard & Urrutia
Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton
Perkins Coie
Philippi Prietocarrizosa Ferrero DU & Uría
Sullivan & Cromwell


Vista Oil & Gas
Bruchou Fernández Madero & Lombardi
Creel García-Cuéllar Aiza y Enríquez
Latham & Watkins
Ritch Mueller Heather y Nicolau
Shearman & Sterling

High yield

Valeant Pharmaceuticals International refinancing
Cahill Gordon & Reindel
Conyers Dill & Pearman
Davis Polk & Wardwell
Norton Rose Fulbright Canada


Goodrich Riquelme Associados
Ice Miller
JA Trevino Abogados
Jackson Kelly
King & Spalding
Lavery de Billy
Levy & Salomão Advogados
Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom
Stikeman Elliott
Taft Stettinius & Hollister
TozziniFreire Advogados
Tucker Ellis


Baker Hughes and GE's Oil and Gas business merger
Arnold & Porter
Clifford Chance
Davis Polk & Wardwell
Shearman & Sterling

Private equity

HBC/WeWork/Rhône Global Strategic Partnership
Gibson Dunn & Crutcher
McCarthy Tétrault
Stikeman Elliott
Willkie Farr & Gallagher

Project finance

Southland repowering project
Latham & Watkins
Norton Rose Fulbright


Barbosa Müssnich e Aragão
Blank Rome
Cerha Hempel Spiegelfeld Hlawati
Cescon Barrieu Flesch & Barreto Advogados
Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton
Clifford Chance
Davis Polk & Wardwell
E Munhoz Advogados
Ferro Castro Neves Advogados
Machado Meyer
Mattos Filho Veiga Filho Marrey Jr e Quiroga Advogados
Mayer Brown
Moses & Singer
Pinheiro Neto Advogados
Santos Neto Advogados
Stocche Forbes Advogados

Securitisation and structured finance

The World Bank's 'pandemic bonds'
Sidley Austin
Sullivan & Cromwell

Teams of the year

Debt & equity linked

Cleary Gottlieb


Simpson Thacher

Financial regulation

Sullivan Cromwell

High yield

Davis Polk




Shearman & Sterling

Private equity

Willkie Farr & Gallagher

Project finance

Clifford Chance


Davis Polk

Structured finance & securitisation

Weil Gotshal

National firm category winners

National banking and finance firm of the year are:

Argentina: Bruchou Fernández Madero & Lombardi
Brazil: Machado Meyer Sendacz Opice Advogados
Canada: Torys
Chile: Morales & Besa
Colombia: Posse Herrera Ruiz
Mexico: Ritch Mueller Heather y Nicolau

National capital markets firm of the year

Argentina: Marval O'Farrell & Mairal
Brazil: Pinheiro Neto Advogados
Canada: Osler Hoskin & Harcourt
Chile: Garrigues Chile
Colombia: Brigard & Urrutia
Mexico: Creel Garcia-Cuellar Aiza y Enriquez

National corporate firm of the year

Argentina: Bruchou Fernández Madero & Lombardi
Brazil: Mattos Filho Veiga Filho Marrey Jr e Quiroga Advogados
Canada: Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg
Chile: Carey
Colombia: Gómez-Pinzón
Mexico: Mijares Angoitia Cortes y Fuentes

National firms of the year


Bruchou Fernández Madero & Lombardi


Pinheiro Neto Advogados



Central America

Consortium Legal


Claro & Cía


Brigard & Urrutia

Costa Rica

BLP Legal

Dominican Republic

Pellereno & Herrera

El Salvador



Mayora & Mayora


García & Bódan


Ritch Mueller Heather y Nicolau


Consortium Legal


Alfaro Ferrer & Ramirez


Estudio Rodrigo Elías y Medrano


Ferrere Abogados

Regional firms of the year

North America national firm of the year

Ritch Mueller Heather y Nicolau

South America national firm of the year

Pinheiro Neto Advogados

Americas firm of the year

Davis Polk

In-house awards

Debt in-house team


Equity in-house team

JP Morgan




close Register today to read IFLR's global coverage

Get unlimited access to IFLR.com for 7 days*, including the latest regulatory developments in the global financial sector, updated daily.

  • Deal Analysis
  • Expert Opinion
  • Best Practice


*all IFLR's global coverage published in the last 3 months.

Read IFLR's global coverage whenever and wherever you want for 7 days with IFLR mobile app for iPad and iPhone

"The format of the Review has changed over the years; the high quality of its substantive content has not."
Lee C Buchheit, Cleary Gottlieb