IFLR Middle East Awards 2023: open for entries
IFLR is part of Legal Benchmarking Limited, 4 Bouverie Street, London, EC4Y 8AX
Copyright © Legal Benchmarking Limited and its affiliated companies 2024

Accessibility | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Modern Slavery Statement

IFLR Middle East Awards 2023: open for entries

IFLR Middle East open for entries

Research for the 2023 Middle East awards has begun – winners will be announced at a live event in Dubai on October 17

We are pleased to announce the launch of the IFLR Middle East Awards 2023, celebrating the best in legal innovation in the region’s cross-border market.

As ever, we will be recognising the leading deals, firms and teams across a number of categories, including capital markets, M&A, private equity, loans, project finance and restructuring, net-zero transition and others. This year, we are introducing a new category for the Financial Services Regulatory team of the year.

To nominate deals, teams and firms for all the awards, please use the awards forms. All the categories, along with their criteria and the research methodology, are detailed in our Awards Summary. The awards are open to both private practice law firms and in-house teams.


Nomination deadline: July 7 2023

Shortlist publication: August 2023

Awards ceremony: October 17 2023, Mandarin Oriental Dubai

You can download all the forms you need to make your nominations here

All entries must be uploaded to the PORTAL by July 7 2023

For any questions about the research, please contact James Wilson

For queries about business development and commercial opportunities related to the awards, please contact Emily Kyriacou

Last year’s IFLR Middle East Awards winners’ write ups and shortlists are free to view at Winners 2022 and Shortlist 2022.

Awards overview

Many of the key requirements and guidelines for the awards remain unchanged. All deals must have reached financial close between July 1 2022 and June 30 2023 to be included in the research. Deals that have not closed during this period will not be considered.

With the exception of the Domestic Deal of the Year category, all deals must meet the cross-border criteria unless otherwise stated. The deals also form the basis of most of the team and firm of the year awards – after all, these awards are all about legal innovation in cross-border transactions.

By focusing on innovation, the IFLR awards strive to recognise work that breaks new legal ground, develops the legal framework for cross-border corporate finance and improves the investment environment.

IFLR will consider the sophistication and complexity of the work and the impact of the legal innovation, as well as contextual challenges in execution, such as political risk. However, the size of the deal, media coverage, commercial success or the speed of the deal are not relevant.

Finally, we recommend that entrants nominate no more than three deals in any one deal of the year category as it is unlikely that more than three will get shortlisted.

Good luck!

Gift this article