IFLR Asia Awards 2018: winners revealed

Author: Amélie Labbé | Published: 2 Mar 2018
Email a friend

Please enter a maximum of 5 recipients. Use ; to separate more than one email address.

Allen & Overy won international law firm of the year at IFLR's annual Asia awards, which were held in Hong Kong on March 1.

The firm also took home the project finance and structured finance and securitisation trophies during the ceremony at the Island Shangri-La Hotel.

Clifford Chance, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom, Shearman & Sterling, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Kirkland & Ellis and Linklaters all took home team wins.

Latham & Watkins was celebrating after scooping up the most innovative US firm award.

Deals spanning the entire Asia-Pacific region were celebrated for their innovation.

Sopnendu Mohanty, the Monetary Authority of Singapore's chief fintech officer, won the market reform award for his work promoting fintech infrastructure and Yvette Rodriguez, Hong Kong's head of legal at Deutsche Bank, picked up the in-house contribution award.

Allen & Gledhill won the region's most innovative national firm of the year while King & Wood Mallesons was crowned Australian and Chinese firm of the year. PRC law firms Grandall Law Firm and Fangda Partners won capital markets and corporate firm of the year: China.

On the in-house side, HSBC and Credit Suisse took home the debt team and the equity team awards, respectively.

The awards were supported by The Nature Conservancy. 

Congratulations to all the winners and all those recognised in the awards ceremony.

The full list of winners is below:

International law firm of the year
Allen & Overy

US law firm of the year
Latham & Watkins

China practice of the year

Regional firm of the year
Allen & Gledhill


Debt & equity-linked

Kyobo Life Insurance's subordinated capital securities offering
Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton
Clifford Chance

Debt & equity-linked firm of the year: Clifford Chance


China Literature IPO Clifford Chance
Davis Polk & Wardwell
Grandall Law Firm
Han Kun Law Offices
Maples and Calder
Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom

Equity firm of the year: Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom

High yield

Indika Energy senior notes
Allen & Gledhill
Assegaf Hamzah & Partners
Ginting & Reksodiputro in association with Allen & Overy
Hadiputranto Hadinoto & Partners
Mayer Brown JSM
Shearman & Sterling

High yield firm of the year: Shearman & Sterling


Rosneft / Essar Oil
AZB Partners
Cyril Amarchand Mandalgas
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Herbert Smith Freehills
J Sagar Associates
Talwar Thakore & Associates
Slaughter and May

M&A firm of the year: Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Private equity

CITIC and The Carlyle Group / McDonald's 
Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton
Kirkland & Ellis
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett
Zhong Lun Law Firm

Private equity firm of the year: Kirkland & Ellis

Project finance

Myingyan IPP
Allen & Gledhill Myanmar
Allen & Overy
DFDL (Myanmar)
Duane Morris & Selvam
Mayer Brown JSM

Project finance firm of the year: Allen & Overy


Mongolian Mining Corporation restructuring
Carey Olsen
Clifford Chance
Davis Polk & Wardwell
Harneys Westwood & Riegels
Mayer Brown JSM
Ropes & Gray

Restructuring firm of the year: Clifford Chance

Structured finance and securitisation

Trafigura non-recourse commodity inventory funding programme
Allen & Gledhill
Allen & Overy
Katten Muchin & Rosenman
Kim & Chang
Lee and Li
Rahmat Lim & Partners
White & Case

Structured finance and securitisation firm of the year: Allen & Overy

Financial services regulatory
 team of the year: Linklaters

Most innovative national law firm of the year
Australia - King & Wood Mallesons
China - King & Wood Mallesons
China Capital markets firm of the year: China - Grandall Law Firm
Corporate firm of the year: China - Fangda Partners
Hong Kong - Clifford Chance
India - Cyril Amarchand & Mangaldas
Indonesia - Assegaf Hamzah & Partners
Japan - Anderson Mori & Tomotsune
Malaysia - Kadir Andri & Partners
Myanmar - Allen & Gledhill Myanmar
New Zealand - Chapman Tripp
Pakistan - Kabraji & Talibuddin
Philippines - Romulo Mabanta Buenaventura Sayoc & de los Angeles
Singapore - Allen & Gledhill
South Korea - Kim & Chang
Taiwan - Lee and Li 
Thailand - Baker McKenzie Thailand
Vietnam - VILAF

In-house equity team
Credit Suisse

In-house debt team

Pro bono law firm of the year
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Offshore firm of the year
Maples and Calder