Women in Business Law Awards EMEA 2024: shortlist announced
IFLR is part of Legal Benchmarking Limited, 4 Bouverie Street, London, EC4Y 8AX
Copyright © Legal Benchmarking Limited and its affiliated companies 2024

Accessibility | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Modern Slavery Statement

Women in Business Law Awards EMEA 2024: shortlist announced

WIBL EMEA shortlist announced logo

The finalists for the 13th annual awards have been announced

The Women in Business Law Awards is excited to have released the full list of finalists for its 2024 Europe, Middle East, and Africa awards.

The awards bring together to recognise the leading women lawyers throughout the region and celebrate the law firms that have impressive initiatives to promote diversity and women in the legal industry.

Winners will be announced on June 26 2024 at the Waldorf Hilton in London.

A preview of the financial and corporate specialism finalists can be found below and the full list of the finalists is available on the awards website.

The Women in Business Law Awards research team carefully selected each finalist after a thorough research period which included an analysis of direct submissions, client feedback, and much deliberation.

If you have any questions regarding our research process, please contact awards editor John Harrison.

The Women in Business Law Awards will be announcing the winners on June 26th at a live awards gala. To find out more – and to find out about how you can promote your success – please contact Tanya Gujral.

Accordion override

Preview of the Women in Business Law Awards EMEA 2024 shortlist:

Lawyer of the Year

  • Banking & Finance

    Asal Saghari, King & Spalding
    Catriona McDevitt, Hadef & Partners
    Christina Faitakis, Karatzas & Partners
    Kate Sinclair, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett
    Maireadh Dale, Matheson
    Melinda Pelikán, Wolf Theiss
    Ulvia Zeynalova-Bockin, Dentons
    Vanessa Schürmann, White & Case
    Zuzanna Zakrzewska, EY
  • Equity Capital Markets

    Loredana Popescu, Popescu & Asociatii
    Marisa Larguinho, Morais Leitão Galvão Teles Soares da Silva & Associados
    Shirel Guttman Amira, Agmon with Tulchinsky
    Silvia Martínez Losas, Lexcrea
    Tone Myhre-Jensen, Cederquist
    Yulia Kyrpa, Aequo
  • Investment Funds

    Alishia Sullivan, Morgan Lewis & Bockius
    Diala Minott, Paul Hastings
    Diana Ribeiro Duarte, Morais Leitão Galvão Teles Soares da Silva & Associados
    Dounia Mansour, King & Spalding
    MaameYaa Kwafo-Akoto, Allen & Overy
    Silvia Martínez Losas, Lexcrea
    Tal Dror-Schwimmer, Herzog Fox & Neeman
  • Private Equity

    Amy Mahon, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett
    Anna Babych, Aequo
    Antonia Verna, Portolano Cavallo
    Anu Balasubramanian, Paul Hastings
    Diana Hund, McDermott Will & Emery
    Isabel Carneiro Khalen, Morais Leitão Galvão Teles Soares da Silva & Associados
    Katja Butler, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom
    Mafalda Almeida Carvalho, CCSL Advogados
    Olivia Guéguen, Dentons
  • Restructuring & Insolvency

    Duygu Gültekin, Esin Attorney Partnership
    Hannah Crawford, Kirkland & Ellis
    Lois Deasey, Weil Gotshal & Manges
    Magdalena Kasiarz, EY
    Magdalena Nitsche, DORDA
    Mei Lian, Paul Hastings
    Polina Lyadnova, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton
    Sigrid Jansen, Allen & Overy
    Yulia Kyrpa, Aequo
  • Debt Capital Markets

    Alyssa Caples, Cravath Swaine & Moore
    Ana Grbec, Milbank
    Annalisa Feliciani, Dentons
    Annette Weber, Advestra
    Connie Milonakis, Davis Polk & Wardwell
    Deirdre Ní Annracháin, Niederer Kraft Frey
    Kenechi Ezezika, OAKE Legal
    Priya Taneja, McDermott Will & Emery
    Sarah Lewis, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton
  • Financial Regulation

    Eva Santervás, Deloitte
    Inga Karulaitytė - Kvainauskienė, ECOVIS ProventusLaw
    Michelle Kirschner, Gibson Dunn & Crutcher
    Monika Koolmeister, COBALT
    Natasha Kavanagh, Ashurst
    Rachpal Thind, Sidley Austin
    Rossella Sansone, Bird & Bird
    Tracey Dovaston, Pallas Partners
    Vera Esteves Cardoso, Morais Leitão Galvão Teles Soares da Silva & Associados
  • M&A

    Agata Kowalska, CK LEGAL
    Clare Gaskell, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett
    Dovilė Burgienė, WALLESS
    Duygu Turgut, Esin Attorney Partnership
    Elisabeth Moseley, McDermott Will & Emery
    Iina-Mari Supperi, Bird & Bird
    Maria Cunha Matos, VdA
    Susanne McMenamin, Matheson
    Weronika Achramowicz, Baker McKenzie
  • Project Finance

    Aurelija Balčiūnė, COBALT
    Christina Faitakis, Karatzas & Partners
    Filipa Morais Alçada, Morais Leitão Galvão Teles Soares da Silva & Associados
    Joana Brandão, PLMJ
    Magdalena Brandstetter, DORDA
    Michelle Liberman, S Horowitz & Co
    Sofia Chatzigiannidou, Zepos & Yannopoulos
    Tuğba Aksoy Bozkurt, Ergun Law Firm
    Yun Ma, Dentons
  • Structured Finance

    Anna Lawry, Ropes & Gray
    Ingrid York, White & Case
    Jacky Kelly, Weil Gotshal & Manges
    Maria Soares do Lago, Morais Leitão Galvão Teles Soares da Silva & Associados
    Sakshi Puri, Al Tamimi & Co
    Victoria Koob, Holland & Knight

Rising Star

  • Corporate

    Alina Makovska, WALLESS
    Amy McDermott, Arthur Cox
    Grainne Boyle, Matheson
    Kati Pino, Hedman
    Kemilembe Barongo, Port Town Legal
    Lauren Cuyvers, Sidley Austin
    Patricia Backhausen, DORDA
    Rebecka Tedroff, White & Case
    Sarah Knapp, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom
  • Financial

    Chantelle Dovey, Cravath Swaine & Moore
    Kai Zhang, Weil Gotshal & Manges
    Maria Carrilho, VdA
    Michelle Holligan, Matheson
    Natasha Kavanagh, Ashurst
    Rita Sacadura Orvalho, PLMJ
    Safiye Ünüvar, DORDA
    Shirin Deyhim, McDermott Will & Emery
    Siobhan Kearney, A&L Goodbody

The Basics

Individuals are judged not only on the complexity of the work the nominees completed in 2023, but also on their advocacy, influence, and thought leadership in relation to the promotion of women in the practice of law and within their practice area specialisms and involvement in ESG initiatives.

Law firm initiatives are recognised across various categories, including for gender diversity and work-life balance.

All of the work accepted for shortlisting closed during the research period, which was from January 1 to December 31 2023. The awards do not recognise cases, deals, or transactions completed outside of the research period.

The Women in Business Law Awards is supported by IFLR, but run independently from IFLR1000 research.

Gift this article